Country Holiday Schedule: 2016

The following is a schedule of holidays in the countries we work in as well as days IAN will be closed. Please be aware, that holidays on a Sunday may be observed by the Embassy on a Monday. It is safe to assume that if the embassy is closed, the in country staff is not working either.

IAN observed Holidays

January 1 Friday

New Year's Day

May 30 Monday Memorial Day
July 4 Monday Independence Day
September 5 Monday Labor Day
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day

Ethiopian Holidays

January 1 Friday New Year's Day American
January 7 Thursday Ethiopian Christmas (Genna) Ethiopian
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday American
January 20 Wednesday Epiphany (Timket) Ethiopian
February 15 Monday President's day American
March 2 Wednesday Victory of Adwa Ethiopian
April 29 Friday Ethiopian Good Friday Ethiopian
May 1 Sunday Ethiopian Easter (Fasika) Ethiopian
May 1 Friday May Day (International Labor Day) Ethiopian
May 5 Thursday Patriots' Victory Day Ethiopian
May 28 Saturday Downfall of the Derg Ethiopian
May 30 Monday Memorial Day American
July 4 Monday Independence Day American
July 7* Thursday Eid al-Fitre (End of Ramadan) Ethiopian
September 5 Monday Labor Day American
September 11 Sunday Ethiopian New Year (Enkutatash) Ethiopian
September 13* Tuesday Eid Al Adaha (Arefa) Ethiopian
September 27 Tuesday Meskel Ethiopian
October 10 Monday Colombus Day American
November 11 Friday Veterans' Day American
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
Decenmber 12* Monday Birthday of the Prophet Mohammed (Moulid) Ethiopian
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day American

Uganda

Jan 1 Friday New Year Public Holiday
Jan 26 Tuesday Liberation Day Public Holiday
Feb 16 Tuesday Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum Public Holiday
Mar 8 Tuesday International Women's Day Public Holiday
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 25 Friday Good Friday Public Holiday
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day Public Holiday
Mar 28 Monday Easter Monday Public Holiday
May 1 Sunday May Day Public Holiday
May 8 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
Jun 3 Friday Martyr's Day Public Holiday
Jun 9 Thursday National Heroes Day Public Holiday
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jun 21 Tuesday Father's Day Observance
Jul 7 Thursday Eid al-Fitr Public Holiday
Sep 13 Tuesday Eid al-Adha Public Holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 9 Sunday Independence Day Public Holiday
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day Public Holiday
Dec 26 Monday Boxing Day Public Holiday

India

Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Thursday Makar Sankranti Restricted Holiday
Jan 15 Friday Pongal Restricted Holiday
Jan 16 Saturday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Jan 26 Tuesday Republic Day Gazetted Holiday
Feb 8 Monday Chinese New Year Observance
Feb 12 Friday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
Feb 19 Friday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 22 Monday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Mar 4 Friday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Mar 7 Monday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Gazetted Holiday
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 23 Wednesday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
Mar 24 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
Mar 24 Thursday Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
Mar 25 Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
Apr 8 Friday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
Apr 13 Wednesday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Thursday Mesadi/Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Thursday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
Apr 15 Friday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
Apr 20 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Apr 21 Thursday Hazarat Ali's Birthday Restricted Holiday
Apr 23 Saturday First day of Passover Observance
May 1 Sunday May Day Observance
May 8 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
May 8 Sunday Birthday of Ravindranath Restricted Holiday
May 21 Saturday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
Jun 19 Sunday Father's Day Observance
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jul 1 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
Jul 6 Wednesday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
Jul 8 Friday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar Muslim, Common Local holidays
Aug 7 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
Aug 15 Monday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
Aug 15 Monday Thanksgiving Day Observance
Aug 17 Wednesday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
Aug 18 Thursday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
Aug 25 Thursday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
Sep 5 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
Sep 12 Monday Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha Gazetted Holiday
Sep 14 Wednesday Onam Restricted Holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 2 Sunday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Oct 11 Tuesday Dussehra (Maha Navami) Gazetted Holiday
Oct 12 Wednesday Muharram/Ashura Gazetted Holiday
Oct 16 Sunday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Oct 19 Wednesday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
Oct 29 Saturday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
Oct 30 Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
Oct 31 Monday Halloween Observance
Oct 31 Monday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
Nov 1 Tuesday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
Nov 6 Sunday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
Nov 24 Thursday Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
Dec 13 Tuesday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad Gazetted Holiday
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Saturday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
Dec 25 Sunday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
Dec 31 Saturday New Year's Eve Observance, Christian

China

Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
Jan 2 Saturday New Year's weekend Common Local holidays
Jan 3 Sunday New Year's weekend Common Local holidays
Feb 7 Sunday Spring Festival Eve National holiday
Feb 8 Monday Chinese New Year National holiday
Feb 9 Tuesday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday National holiday
Feb 10 Wednesday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Feb 11 Thursday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Feb 12 Friday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday National holiday
Feb 12 Friday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Feb 13 Saturday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Feb 13 Saturday Spring Festival Golden Week holiday National holiday
Feb 22 Monday Lantern Festival Observance
Mar 8 Tuesday International Women's Day Observance
Mar 10 Thursday Zhonghe Festival Observance
Mar 12 Saturday Arbor Day Observance
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Apr 2 Saturday Qing Ming Jie National holiday
Apr 3 Sunday Qing Ming Jie holiday National holiday
Apr 30 Saturday Labour Day Holiday National holiday
May 1 Sunday Labour Day National holiday
May 2 Monday Labour Day Holiday National holiday
May 4 Wednesday Youth Day Observance
Jun 1 Wednesday Children's Day Observance
Jun 9 Thursday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
Jun 10 Friday Dragon Boat Festival holiday National holiday
Jun 11 Saturday Dragon Boat Festival holiday National holiday
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jul 1 Friday CPC Founding Day Observance
Jul 11 Monday Maritime Day Observance
Aug 1 Monday Army Day Observance
Aug 9 Tuesday Double Seven Festival Observance
Aug 17 Wednesday Spirit Festival Observance
Sep 10 Saturday Teachers' Day Observance
Sep 15 Thursday Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
Sep 16 Friday Mid-Autumn Festival holiday National holiday
Sep 17 Saturday Mid-Autumn Festival holiday National holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 1 Saturday National Day National holiday
Oct 2 Sunday National Day Golden Week holiday National holiday
Oct 3 Monday National Day Golden Week holiday National holiday
Oct 4 Tuesday National Day Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Oct 5 Wednesday National Day Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Oct 6 Thursday National Day Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Oct 7 Friday National Day Golden Week holiday Common Local holidays
Oct 9 Sunday Double Ninth Festival Observance
Nov 8 Tuesday Journalists' Day Observance
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day Observance

Mexico

Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
Jan 6 Wednesday Day of the Holy Kings Observance
Feb 1 Monday Day off for Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 5 Friday Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 10 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Observance, Christian
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
Feb 24 Wednesday Flag Day Observance
Mar 18 Friday Oil Expropriation Day Observance
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 20 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance, Christian
Mar 21 Monday Benito Juárez's Birthday Memorial National holiday
Mar 24 Thursday Maundy Thursday Bank holiday
Mar 25 Friday Good Friday Bank holiday
Mar 26 Saturday Holy Saturday Observance
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day Observance, Christian
Apr 30 Saturday Children's Day Observance
May 1 Sunday Labor Day / May Day National holiday
May 5 Thursday Cinco de Mayo Observance
May 5 Thursday Ascension Day Observance
May 10 Tuesday Mother's Day Observance
May 15 Sunday Teacher's Day Observance
May 15 Sunday Whit Sunday Observance
May 26 Thursday Corpus Christi Observance
Jun 19 Sunday Father's Day Observance
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Aug 15 Monday Assumption of Mary Observance
Sep 15 Thursday Shout of Dolores Observance
Sep 16 Friday Independence Day National holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 12 Wednesday Columbus Day Observance
Oct 31 Monday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Tuesday All Saints' Day Observance
Nov 2 Wednesday All Souls' Day Observance
Nov 20 Sunday Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Nov 20 Sunday Christ the King Day Observance
Nov 21 Monday Day off for Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Dec 8 Thursday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Observance
Dec 12 Monday Day of the Virgin of Guadalupe Bank holiday
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Saturday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day National holiday, Christian
Dec 28 Wednesday Day of the Holy Innocents Observance
Dec 31 Saturday New Year's Eve Observance

Contact Us

Fill out the form below to find out more about your international and domestic adoption options.